April Holidays – San Sebastian, Spain

Susanna and I didn’t have the reservation information in front of us when we booked our train for San Sebastian.  So according to my superior memory, I bought the train for the day after we were supposed to arrive!  We went on a train down to Barcelona and then through Spain, instead of going through France, and then crossing the border there.

The forecast was a warm 50 degrees, with plenty of rain and wind!  Haha.  Susanna and I took a nine hour train ride through Barcelona and the Spanish countryside where it was 70 and sunny… and finally ended up in San Sebastian on the Atlantic coast around 10pm to rain and cold.  (The train ride from Perpignan was about 80 euros one way.  We learned its much cheaper to go through France, then take regional transport to San Seb…but we didn’t know that was possible when we booked our tickets)  Kylie and Susan met us at the train station and we went straight for dinner at a little 1950’s style diner called Peggy Sue’s.  Spain is so much cheaper than France!  We stayed at the EU Urban House hostel… great location and set up, and only about 15 euros/night.  That night, we just stayed at the hostel and caught up with each others’ vacations… Susan and Kylie had been traveling Scotland and England for the past week and a half for Susan’s birthday!

We spent the next day walking around the beaches….they are huge!  There’s a surfer’s beach, and a swimmer’s beach.  And in the sun, I would imagine them to be so beautiful!  There is a white iron fence that surrounds the beach promenade all the way around the coast.  The swimmer’s beach is protected by rocks that make the waves soft and perfect for shallow swimming.

There’s a hill to walk up on the side of the beach above the aquarium with a great view of the coastline.  Look at these beautiful houses!..

There’s also a little marina with canons that maybe used to protect the city?  Haha….I actually don’t know where they come from.

The surfer’s beach wasn’t very busy while we were there..  The beaches in San Sebastian were by far some of the nicest I’ve ever seen!  So clean and soft…but there were no shells at all which I thought was weird.

We stayed just for one night, and then the next day we headed back to France to see Biarritz!

4 responses

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with
    a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than
    that, this is fantastic blog. A great read.

    I’ll certainly be back.

  2. Great items from you, man. I’ve take into accout your stuff

    prior to and you’re simply too great. I really like what you have bought here,

    really like what you are saying and the best way in which you say it.
    You make

    it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay
    it sensible. I can not wait to learn far more from you.
    This is actually a

    tremendous web site.

  3. Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic

    but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting sick and tired of

    WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for
    another platform. I

    would be great if you could point me in the
    direction of a good platform.

Comment! Comment!

